March, 2017

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 10.07.11 PM

Hello, I thought you might be interested that I’m making one of my books free  for a limited time.

To mark the sixth anniversary of the earthquake, tsunami and nuclear meltdown that devastated northern Japan and rattled us here in Abiko too, I’m again this year giving away my book Children of the Tsunami for free over the next five days. (The links are at the bottom of this post).

Back in 2011, I thought the disaster would herald a new age. Perhaps we would figure out a way to live without nuclear power, institutionalised political corruption and the mass media… but it didn’t happen quite as I’d naively hoped. The nuke plants are back on line, the same party that was in power in 1950s Japan is still in power today and social media has become as manipulative and manipulated as TV ever was.

But all is not lost. It’s still possible to get a few hits of real news between the corporate cracks. Around this time in 2015 I was fortunate to spend time visiting survivors of the tsunami in Ishinomaki, Rikuzentakata and Kesennuma and I wrote up and sketched what I saw. The result is Children of the Tsunami, which is available to download for free from all Amazon sites including Amazon.comAmazon.co.jpAmazon.co.uk right now for the next five days. Enjoy. You can read the book on any Kindle device for free or download a free Kindle app from Amazon and read it for free on any brand of smartphone or tablet.

I hope you enjoy the book, and spare a thought for the dead and even more, for the survivors who we can all still help. That starts by giving them a little of our attention.

If you enjoy the book and think others might enjoy it, feel free to send one of the links above to friends or family over the next five days.

Many thanks for reading,

Patrick

Subscribe to this newsletter here

Standard

Leave a comment